Algebra and Discrete Mathematics Number 3. (2007). pp. 161 – 163 © Journal "Algebra and Discrete Mathematics"

## Mathematics competition

sponsored by Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA) and U.S.-Ukraine Foundation with the support of Ukraine and Kyiv Mathematical Societies and hon. Roman Popadiuk – first U.S. ambassador to Ukraine

The Shevchenko Scientific Society of America and U.S.-Ukraine Foundation are sponsoring an annual mathematics competition for young mathematicians in Ukraine. The winner of the competition will be awarded a prize of 5000 USD. The goal of the competition is to help young mathematicians who are working at research institutions in Ukraine, and to stimulate the interest of young people in pure and applied science. The competition is open to citizens of Ukraine who are working permanently in Ukraine, 35 years old, or younger, and who posses the degree of Kandydat, or D.Sc., in physico-mathematical sciences.

To participate, applicants should send the following documents by e-mail to the executive secretary of the Awards Committee nekrash@math.tamu.edu, using Adobe PDF or PS format:

- Brief description of the results of the project (3 pages or less, written in Ukrainian language) which is being submitted for the Mathematics Competition.
- Curriculum Vitae, including a list of all publications.
- List of publications (no more than three) containing the results submitted for the Mathematics Competition, including computer files of these publications.
- List of important conference where the above results were presented, and type of presentation (plenary session, special session, or other).
- List of proposed reviewers (no more than three).

The Committee will forward the documents to the reviewers proposed by the applicant and, in addition, to reviewers of its own choosing. Based on the response received from the reviewers, the Committee will consider three of the top candidates and decide the winner by majority vote.

The deadline for submitting applications to the 2008 Mathematics Competition is **February 15, 2008**. The results of the competition are planned to be announced by the end of May 2008.

Information about the Mathematics Competition will appear on the web-pages of the Ukrainian and Kyiv mathematical societies, the U.S.-Ukraine Foundation and Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA). Announcements concerning the Mathematics Competition will be published in the Ukrainian Mathematical Journal and other scholarly publications in Ukraine.

## Mathematics Award Committee

Chair: Rostislav Grigorchuk (Texas A&M University, USA) Associate Chair: Sergiy Kolyada (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine) Executive Secretary: Volodymyr Nekrashevych (Texas A&M University, USA) Chair of Sponsored Programs of the Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA): Roman Andrushkiw

(New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA)

Honorary members: Yuri Berezansky (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine), Vladimir Drinfeld (University of Chicago, USA), Yuri I. Manin (Max Planck Institute for Mathematics, Germany; Northwestern University, USA), Vladimir Marchenko (Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of NASU, Ukraine), Anatoly Samoilenko (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine), Anatoly Skorokhod (Michigan State University, USA), Wolodymyr Petryshyn (Rutgers University, USA)

**From Ukraine**: Yuri Drozd (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine), Michael Zarichnyi (Ivan Franko National University of L'viv, Ukraine), Volodimir V. Kirichenko (National Taras Shevchenko University of Kyiv, Ukraine), Sergiy Kolyada (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine; president of the Kyiv Mathematical Society), Leonid Kurdachenko (Dnipropetrovs'k National University, Ukraine), Leonid Pastur (Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of NASU, Ukraine), Igor Protasov (National Taras Shevchenko University of Kyiv, Ukraine), Yuri S. Samoilenko (Institute of Mathematics of NASU, Ukraine) From other countries: Alexei Borodin (California Institute of Technology, USA), Alexander Goncharov (Brown University, USA), Vadim Kaloshin (University of Maryland, USA), Yuri Kondratiev (Bielefeld University, Germany), Sergei Kuksin (Ecole Polytechnique, France), Nikolai Leonenko (Cardiff University, UK), Igor Subbotin (National University, USA), Vitaly Sushchansky (Silesian University of Technology, Poland), Edward Tymchatyn (University of Saskatchewan, Canada), Boris Tsygan (Northwestern University, USA)

From Shevchenko Scientific Society (USA): Roman Andrushkiw (New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA), Rostislav Grigorchuk (Texas A&M University, USA), Wolodymyr Madych (University of Connecticut, USA), Anna Nagurney (University of Massachussetts, USA), Volodymyr Nekrashevych (Texas A&M University, USA), Wolodymyr Petryshyn (Rutgers University, USA), Roman Samulyak (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)